Gateway murder trial

Sorry- I’ve been going over old posts

with 17 comments

Sorry I’ve been neglecting you!

Yes the jury went back to deliberate at 2:07 p.m. So no, they’re not having a two hour lunch.

I’ve been working to organize the posts I’ve made over the past few days so that’s why I havent been posting.

I appreciate all of the discussion going on in the comments, but please be respectful of each other. There are times I’ve been tempted to shut off the comments because people were bashing each other instead of discussing the case, the blog, offering their theories, etc.

I didn’t shut them off because I believe there is value in constructive discussion.

So no bashing, please! 🙂

Written by Melissa Hudson

October 16, 2008 at 3:26 pm

Posted in Day 11

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for the updates!! I moved from Ft. Myers last year to NY and this is the only place I can get info!

    : )

    Tracy

    October 16, 2008 at 3:29 pm

  2. i do hope that soon we get an answer

    frankie

    October 16, 2008 at 3:31 pm

  3. It is such a nightmare that this happened…I have to say that all I pray is that justice is found for the victims and their son.Hope to hear a verdict today…..

    Cindy

    October 16, 2008 at 3:39 pm

  4. Is tehre absolutely ANY evidence suggesting that Cooper and Michelle were “intimate” or even “closer” than just a few phone calls.

    Or is this just a story conjured up by Freddie/Defense to account for his DNA under Michelle’s finger nails?

    RS

    October 16, 2008 at 3:43 pm

  5. So anxious to see closure. I used to work in Gateway and was a member of the South Fort myers community for the last several years. Its a shame that someone would consider commiting a crime of this nature and in addition to get away with it. As a former fort myers Juror I would hope that this is thuroughly reviewed and that justice is served where needed. It is the least that the Andrews family members deserve.

    Jesse

    October 16, 2008 at 3:46 pm

  6. @RS
    I think it’s just another lie. He claims he had unprotected sex with her that night but there was no evidence of that. There was evidence that she had been with her husband Steven though.

    Jon

    October 16, 2008 at 3:46 pm

  7. they just took a break at about 3:45p

    lyn

    October 16, 2008 at 3:49 pm

  8. I don’t think (from what I read) that there is even any evidence of the phone calls… he (Fred) states she always called him at work (I assume on the work phone). So there were no phone records. And I believe it was stated that there was no record of Michelle making these calls from either the home phone or her cell phone… so no outgoing call record either.

    Jack

    October 16, 2008 at 3:49 pm

  9. Does anyone know when they pull the trigger and say “hung jury”? Is there a process to this?

    lacy

    October 16, 2008 at 3:52 pm

  10. I am completely supportive of the jury and want them to make the best educated decision they can. However, I am also questioning why they need so many breaks and recesses. I don’t even get as many as they do at my job – and they don’t start until 9:00 a.m. If it were me, I think I’d just want to work as long as I could just to get it over with. However, I’m sure, if there is dissention, that people are frustrated and breaks probably are the only relief they get from the frustration.

    Me

    October 16, 2008 at 3:52 pm

  11. if there is a hung jury then they start all over with a new trial.

    lyn

    October 16, 2008 at 3:54 pm

  12. I think if it’s 50/50 then that’s a hung jury. If it’s a single juror then that person could be dismissed? Someone correct me if I am wrong.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hung_jury

    Jon

    October 16, 2008 at 3:58 pm

  13. It is a difficult thought to comprehend…. your involvement in deciding the fate of another on based on facts from the prosecution and defense. They are both professionals and bring in a few words that will twist you up and make you think. “Reasonable Doubt.” I don’t believe this should be considered here with all of the case records including multiple lies from the defendant throughout the case. If you are innocent and convicted of double murder, there should be no reason to lie to conceal a relationship or mutual sexual encounter that most likely never existed.

    Anony

    October 16, 2008 at 4:04 pm

  14. Did’nt previous Blogs from Melissa indicate that the Jury had the hotel through the weekend? I would think they might be able to deliberate for the next few days. Although I sure hope not.

    Anony

    October 16, 2008 at 4:10 pm

  15. Please God! Justice for Michelle, Steven and their families! Fred Cooper deserves the worst for what he did to them! Not one thing that came out of his mouth was the truth! Three years is a long time to conjure up a great answer for everything! Hopefully Kellie learned from this also, never play around with someone else’s husband! Find your own! Michelle was the innocent one in this mess and she got the worst of it! I’m sure she was fighting for her son because she probably thought he’d be next! Steven died without even knowing what hit him! I pray for her family daily! God Bless!

    Tracy

    October 16, 2008 at 4:17 pm

  16. One of the previous posts from the Melissa did indicate that a hotel was availabe through the weekend for the jury, I surely hope it does not take that long!….

    I have 2 questions that maybe someone can answer for me, perhaps I missed them…

    Were phone records ever gone over from Michelles cell phone or the Andrews’ home phone possibly indicating phone calls to Sunsports?…or were records ever collected from Sunsports that could have indicated a phone call from Michelle?…

    Second, where is this vehicle that they supposedly had sex in, I know the Andrews owned a 4 Runner and that is where Cooper is claiming they had sex…obviously the vehicle is long gone now but was it ever processed initially, it was sitting in the driveway the morning the bodies were found….

    Another question I have, sorry thats more than 2, is why weren’t the sheets or comforter ever processed??????…this is a big mystery to me…sounds like we need new CSI’s…just my opinion…its protocol to process everything with blood on it…I am a certified forensic nurse and that is what they taught us in school…common practice I would think…

    Kelly

    October 16, 2008 at 4:20 pm

  17. Kelly, there are no records for local calls. Calls from Gateway are local for the entire Fort Myers area and even Bonita Springs.

    I believe the 4 Runner had a child seat in the middle of the back seat.

    Jon

    October 16, 2008 at 4:25 pm


Leave a Reply

