Gateway murder trial

Jury just got coffee

with 4 comments

The bailiff, who I call “handsome handler” just brought the jury some coffee.

The jury basically has one baliff who takes care of them, which is why we jokingly call him the handler.

He’s the one who makes sure they’re all together when they come into the courtroom (we all have to stand), takes them to the lunchroom for lunch, and in general makes sure no one bothers them. One day he even took them for a walk around the building (we had two hours for lunch that day).

It’s funny how we all seem to have gotten into a routine over the past two weeks or so. It has definitely been a learning experience for me. I’ll definitely never look at jury duty the same!

I am going to keep you updated – even when there’s nothing much going on! We’re all speculating why it’s taking the jury so long to come to a decision.

Written by Melissa Hudson

October 15, 2008 at 3:10 pm

Posted in Day 10

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Melissa…thank you for your updates. I can only imagine how tiresome it must be at this point when all there is left to do is wait for something, anything to happen. I also enjoy the light humor that you’re adding to the situation! The “handsome handler”!!!

    All in all, I’m still busting at the seams with anticipation…c’mon already….I wanna hear that jury put their little paw on the door and are knocking with the verdict in hand!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    June

    October 15, 2008 at 3:24 pm

  2. was there any sign of forced entry into the housr?

    Darryl

    October 15, 2008 at 3:27 pm

  3. It sounds like the Jury is taking their time, and examining every thing that they have received, which is what I would want if this trial were anything to do with one of my family members. I really don’t envy them. I do wish that they would have a verdict, but I understand what they are doing.

    This blog has been a learning experience for everyone and I thank you for keeping us up to date

    Just Me

    October 15, 2008 at 3:30 pm

  4. Hi Darryl…no sign of forced entry…the back pool screen was unlocked as was the back slider to the pool. They believe, perhaps, that the back slider had been lifted off of it’s track in order to be slid, not certain though!

    June

    October 15, 2008 at 9:44 pm


Leave a Reply

